Okedo heads, why you have eleven holes?

One of my taiko ladies, Kathy, made a couple of okedo daiko several years ago. One of them needs both heads replaced. I planned on making one head and I’ll use one of the old heads as a resonation head and replace it later … eventually … I dunno when, just not today. I gathered my materials accordingly.

Since I’d be using one of the old okedo heads, I had to match the number of holes on the new one. The old one, to my dismay, had eleven holes. How … odd. I looked through some pictures of professionally-made okedo. Many had twelve holes, but many also indeed had eleven.

okedou_eitetu
Asano Taiko’s Okedo Taiko Eitetsu

Most of the shime heads I’ve seen have ten or twelve holes. So why eleven for an okedo?

Leave a Reply

